Foundation Stage

Reception: EYFS

Children entering Reception have access to the EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage) curriculum.

It is based on three prime and four specific areas of learning, and the three characteristics of effective learning set out below:


The prime areas of learning:

1. Communication and language

2. Physical development

3. Personal, social and emotional development

The specific areas of learning:

1. Literacy

2. Maths

3. Understanding the world

4. Expressive arts and design

Characteristics of effective learning:

1. Playing and exploring

2. Active learning

3. Creative and thinking critically


Much of the children’s learning takes place through structured play both in and out of doors.  This is guided by the Foundation Stage staff and also places high value on incorporating child-initiated activities.


Communication of the curriculum

At the beginning of each year, staff hold welcome meetings to inform parents and carers of the expectations, curriculum and coverage in each year group.

Staff send home topic webs each term to inform parents and carers of the curriculum their children will be following.


In Reception and KS1 children are taught Phonics using 'Jolly Phonics' and 'Letters and Sounds'.


Children start by reading 'Big Cat' phonics books and then move onto reading a wide variety of reading schemes as they move through Key Stage One, including:

  • Songbirds
  • Oxford Reading Tree
  • Spiral Starters
  • Discovery World
  • Lighthouse
  • Story Chest
  • Story Worlds
  • All Aboard
  • Project X