Foundation Stage

Children entering Reception have access to the EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage) curriculum.

It is based on three prime and four specific areas of learning, and the three characteristics of effective learning set out below:


The prime areas of learning:

1. Communication and language

2. Physical development

3. Personal, social and emotional development

The specific areas of learning:

1. Literacy

2. Maths

3. Understanding the world

4. Expressive arts and design

Characteristics of effective learning:

1. Playing and exploring

2. Active learning

3. Creative and thinking critically


Much of the children’s learning takes place through structured play both in and out of doors.  This is guided by the Foundation Stage staff and also places high value on incorporating child-initiated activities.


In reception children are taught Phonics using the 'Jolly Phonics' scheme and 'Letters and Sounds'. They start by reading 'Big Cat' phonics books and then move onto reading a wide variety of reading schemes as they move through Key Stage One.